New director appointed

27 July 2023

AnneMcLeod Experienced Dunedin lawyer Anne McLeod has been appointed to the Port Otago Board.

Anne has been with the legal firm, Anderson Lloyd, since 1999 and was made a partner in 2002. She specialises in corporate commercial law and is particularly experienced in merger and acquisition transactions, corporate governance and structuring and capital raising.

Anne is delighted to be joining the Port Otago Board. "It's an exciting board to be part of. It's in my hometown, which appeals, in terms of giving back. I am conscious of the positive influence the port company has on the city and the commercial benefits it brings to the wider Otago and Southland region. At a personal level, I'm looking forward to working with the directors and senior leadership team."

Port Otago Chair Tim Gibson says Anne's background as a corporate commercial lawyer and her experience in strategic matters, information dissemination and property knowledge make her an ideal fit for the Board. "Anne is known for her commercial acumen and collaborative working style. We are all looking forward to her joining the Port Otago team".

Anne's early primary school years were spent in Auckland and Melbourne. Her family moved to Dunedin just prior to Anne starting intermediate. She attended St Hilda's Collegiate and then the University of Otago, where she gained a double degree in law and commerce. As a graduate, Anne spent three years with Invercargill law firm AWS Legal before moving to Dunedin to join Anderson Lloyd. Other than an eight-year period in Christchurch establishing Anderson Lloyd's Christchurch office, she has lived in Dunedin ever since.

Anne is a member of the Institute of Directors New Zealand, Restructuring Insolvency and Turnaround Association New Zealand (RITANZ) and the Banking and Financial Services Law Association. She serves on the board of Anderson Lloyd and is Deputy Chair of St Hilda's Collegiate School's Board of Trustees. Anne has previously been a director of Southland Building Society (SBS) Bank and Chair of the bank's subsidiary company, Southsure Assurance.